Create a World Free of Poverty on a Livable Planet: My Mission and Career at the World Bank

Thursday, February 29, 2024 11:30 - 13:00 Central European Time (CET) / 19:30 - 21:00 Asia/Tokyo (JST)
cityscape frankfurt covered modern buildings during sunset germany

Global challenges, ranging from climate change to political conflicts, have become increasingly cross-cutting and complex. It is crucial for professionals to gain a comprehensive understanding of the on-ground realities. In such intricate challenges, collaboration and leadership have become imperative.

Join us for an insightful session with Yoichiro Ishihara, bringing over 20 years of experience as a Country Representative and Economist at the World Bank in Lesotho, Bhutan, Indonesia, Afghanistan, Rwanda, and Washington DC. Yoichiro will share his experiences and offer guidance to navigate your professional journey.

Gain valuable insights during this session, including:

– A deep dive into the realities of developing countries, often overlooked by professionals.
– The significance of continuous learning and personal capacity development for realizing short-term and long-term visions (i.e., kokorozasi).
– Strategies for working effectively in diverse cultures and with various personalities.
– Practical tips on striking a work-life balance.

 

Notes about this interactive online event

This event will be held live online. Upon registration, a link will be sent to your email address with a URL and details on how to join. Some tips for the event!

  • Join on time as the event will be live (we recommend signing in at least 5 minutes early)
  • Please try to have earphones, microphone and/or a webcam ready for a more interactive experience
  • Have a good time and don’t be shy to participate in the discussions

We look forward to meeting you online.

Overview

Date: Thursday, February 29, 2024
Time: 11:30 - 13:00 Central European Time (CET) / 19:30 - 21:00 Asia/Tokyo (JST)
Where: Held live online
Registration Fee: Free of charge
Language: English

Agenda

11:30 (CET) / 19:30 (JST) Introduction
11:35 (CET) / 19:35 (JST) Keynote speech by Yoichiro Ishihara
12:20 (CET) / 20:20 (JST) Q&A with the audience
12:50 (CET) / 20:50 (JST) GLOBIS overview and MBA program intro
13:00 (CET) / 21:00 (JST) End of the session

Yoichiro Ishihara

Yoichiro Ishihara is the World Bank’s Country Representative for Lesotho. He is a macroeconomist with a broad operational expertise, apt technical skills and rich client experience across various regions. He also worked for the policy department in Washington, DC on development effectiveness and results management.

Ishihara has held various positions within the World Bank. Most recently, he was the Resident Representative and Senior Economist for Bhutan. He has also served as an economist in Indonesia and senior country economist in Afghanistan and Rwanda.

Ishihara holds a PhD in Development Economics from the Graduate School of International Development of Nagoya University, Japan.

Register Now

Next Steps

Brochure Contact Events